HPC Ecosystems OpenHPC Virtual Lab #02

Bryan Johnston (CHPC), Eugene de Beste (CHPC)

The CHPC will be hosting a fully-online OpenHPC virtual training workshop for all SADC, SKA, and HPC Ecosystems partner institutions.

  • Pre-Requisites -- participants are expected to have experience and understanding of:
    • HPC concepts (from a System Administrator's perspective):
      • What is HPC
      • Why HPC
      • HPC hardware
      • Parallel Computing Concepts
      • Software Compilation
      • Material presented by the CHPC's Student Cluster Competition is sufficient to meet this requirement.

The workshop will concentrate on:

  • ​​​​Hands-on OpenHPC deployment
    • The participants will all perform an OpenHPC deployment to a basic virtual cluster running on their host machines
      • This will cover the basic deployment of the OpenHPC solution that is officially supported by the CHPC's HPC Ecosystems and SADC community
    • At the end of the deployment process, a fully functional Management Server will be operational as a VM, and can be migrated to a physical system, or used as-is to manage a physical HPC cluster.

Content will be delivered asynchronously:

  • Training Videos are hosted on YouTube
  • Collaborative Virtual Classroom environment (Piazza or similar) where all participants will be expected to participate collaboratively through the workshop.

The format of the programme is designed to accommodate all partner institutions of any experience or background, with any time availability or workload commitments. 

You do not need an operational HPC system to perform this training - everything will be run on your local machine (desktop or laptop).

  • Aas Malick Dia GUEYE
  • Alexander Akoto-Danso
  • Alfred Mwanza
  • Algy Adamo
  • Alphonce Kibabi
  • Augustus Buckman
  • Berny Chaimite
  • Caroline Gurajena
  • Cyrus Kamau
  • David Chande
  • Denis Yegon
  • Edward Lukyamuzi
  • Elliot Jere
  • Eva Mamabolo
  • Fanomezana Randrianarinosy
  • Fred Lusajo
  • Garth Combrink
  • Henry Simfukwe
  • John Poole
  • Lara Timm
  • Leonard Els
  • Mabatho Hashatsi
  • Molwantwa Raditsebe
  • Mphenduli Ntsizi
  • Ndabase Jere
  • Ndeye Amy FALL
  • Nidhal Ghanmi
  • painos gweme
  • Patrick Kimaro
  • Phomolo Seithati Tidy Ntumelang
  • Phumzile Nomnga
  • Richard Couperthwaite
  • Shedrack Lyelu
  • Shoopala Nambahu
  • Siyabulela Dyakalashe
  • Steve Mwangi
  • Suresh Maslamoney
  • Thuso Bogopa
  • Vania Zacarias
  • Victor Celso Sechene Filipe Guambe
  • Vitalina Baptista
  • Zama Mtshali
The agenda of this meeting is empty